The Commitments of the Turbot Quality Association

Bassin d'élevage

Guaranteeing turbot the best possible living conditions

To get label rouge turbots, you need to be skilled in many different crafts : expert in reproduction, in fertilization, in growing sea plankton… Its environment also requires being carefully watched : light, water temperature, density in the tanks. Once the juvenile grows, the breeding tanks are specifically conceived to reproduce the natural conditions of the turbot’s life. Thus, in an environment perfectly adapted to its nature, the label rouge turbot benefits from the best conditions ever.

alimentation-des-alevinsProviding a natural diet based on marine products

The Label Rouge mark guarantees strict compliance with a rigorous specifications. The rigour is applied to the feed, based on marine products (60%), plant products, vitamins and minerals. The breeders also take care that the proteins and lipids are strictly controlled.

Focussing on traceability from birth to point of sale

The label rouge turbot is identified, followed, and checked from birth until sale. A breeding record is kept at each step. The same rigorousness is applied to the composition, production and distribution of the food. It is due to this condition that the consumers can see, on fishmongers’ stalls or on restaurant tables, products whose history is thoroughly known.

Guaranteeing quality with a best before date

The label rouge certified product is turbot (Scophthalmus maximus) produced under the Turbot Quality scheme, and is only sold in the following forms :

– Fresh turbot, whole and not gutted

– Fresh turbot, whole and gutted

– Pieces of fresh turbot : steaks and fillets

– New in 2016 : frozen turbot steaks available!

Freshness is guaranteed with a shelf life of 9 days for whole fresh turbot and a use by date of 7 days for fillets and steaks.

Les engagements de l’Association Turbot Qualité

Bassin d'élevage

Garantir au turbot les meilleures conditions de vie

Pour obtenir des turbots label rouge, il faut savoir exercer de nombreux métiers : la reproduction, la fécondation, l’élevage du plancton marin… Il faut également veiller à tout son environnement : lumière, température, qualité de l’eau, densité dans les bassins. Lorsque l’alevin grandit, les bassins d’élevage sont particulièrement étudiés pour reproduire les conditions naturelles de vie du turbot. Ainsi, dans un milieu parfaitement adapté à sa nature, le turbot label rouge bénéficie des meilleures conditions de vie qui soient.

alimentation-des-alevinsOffrir une alimentation naturelle à base de produits marins

Le label rouge garantit le strict respect d’un cahier des charges exigeant. Cette rigueur s’applique à l’alimentation à base de produits marins (60%), de végétaux, vitamines et minéraux. Les éleveurs et les fabricants d’aliments, signataires du cahier des charges label rouge, déploient toute leur vigilance et prennent soin que protéines et lipides soient strictement contrôlés.

Assurer la traçabilité de la naissance aux points de vente

Le turbot label rouge est identifié, suivi, contrôlé de la naissance jusqu’au point de vente. Un cahier d’élevage est tenu à chaque étape. La même rigueur préside en ce qui concerne la composition, la fabrication et la distribution de l’aliment. C’est à cette condition que les consommateurs peuvent voir sur les étals des poissonneries ou sur les tables des restaurants, des turbots dont l’historique est parfaitement connu.

Garantir la qualité par une date limite de vente

Le produit certifié label rouge est le turbot (Scophthalmus maximus) issu de la filière française Turbot Qualité, présenté sous les seules formes suivantes :

– le turbot frais, entier, non éviscéré
– le turbot frais entier, éviscéré
– les découpes de turbot frais : pavés et filets

– les découpes de turbot surgelées : pavés (nouveau!)

Leur fraîcheur est garantie par une date limite de vente de 9 jours pour le turbot frais entier et une date limite de consommation de 7 jours pour les découpes